daniele%20toesca%20 %20dt39%20-%20armchair%20-%20black%20-%206

Cube Armchair and Footstool: Luxury Furniture for Sophisticated Interiors

The cube is standing still: its equal side lengths, its sharp external edges, its stiffness… All this can change, in fact, it is sufficient to settle, accommodate and letting yourself be rocked by its soft cuddle: the freedom of a hard cube shaping the body is something impressive, unique, and beyond description. This is the essence of the exceptional Cube Armchair.

The cube, one of the many perfect geometric figures, is a Platonic solid. This solid formed by six squares, lost in the night since the most ancient times, as you discover that the Egyptian statues depicting kings and deities were already sitting on cubes. If the circle represents the dynamic being, the square is the opposite, since, being anchored on all four sides by straight angles, it represents the static, but also the resistance, the concreteness, the stability, the reliability, the integrity and therefore in its elementary form, also and above all, a rigid form of perfection.

Many altars and temples have been designed by means of the square, in which the sacred space is expressed. Just as man can be drawn within a square (the Vitruvian man), also the church, considered similar to a human organism, is also built according to these rules: made up of three horizontal and four vertical squares. In western churches, the intersection between the transept and the nave gives shape to a cube, on which the circle of the base of the dome is grafted, a symbol of the sky and infinity in contrast to the four sides of the square; it is the representation of the cosmos, due to the equality of its four sides and its four elements symbolized by the Gospels. 

Similar, is the Masonic thought about the cross and the rectangle, which is called "long square" or "square Sun", because it has the proportion of 1:1.618, that is the Golden Section: God himself and the Universe. This figure represents the perfection of the relations between heaven and earth, and men’ faculty to draw to themselves and achieve this thoroughness, and to resolve, by means of their own life, the squaring of the circle. 
The earth, measured by its four horizons, is square and divided into four regions occupied by four castes with the four arms or the four faces of the Divinity. Vishnu, Shiva and Ganesha have four arms.

So, unlike the circle, the square includes straight lines that send a sensation of stasis, attachment and immutability. One only has to look that buildings and houses often have square foundations, or even squares, classic hangout places to meet, they have a square section. The cubic stone is found in all traditions as a support to the religious ritual. The Ka'ba (measuring 11.30 × 12.86 meters on each side, for a height of 13.10 meters), the huge stone cube of Mecca, is reverend throughout the Arab world and represents the holiest place of Islam. 

Tantra or architectural mandalas are images of the cosmos: they are square and have four cardinal doors. In India, very often, there are stupas and temples built according to three-dimensional mandalas. The square is the basic figure of space in opposition to the circle and the spiral, which represent time. 
In China, cities are built on a square base with four gates on the cardinal points; the house (Ming-t'ang) is also square and has four times three doors, which recalls the twelve doors of the Celestial Jerusalem, which meet the twelve months, the twelve apostles, the twelve zodiac signs, etc.

Inside the square, our consciousness can be reverberated onto reality to learn how much she represents, to compare the bright and the dark, the light with the dark, basically  the opposite poles that make up matter. Contrary to what many pseudo-spiritualists Catholic and Christian researchers who denigrate, only in order to stop people growth in order to keep them under control. While it is precisely through materiality that true spirituality is known, as long as one has a clear and distinct image of the goal that one intends to achieve with the inner search.

The four sides of the square symbolize: 
- the four cardinal directions: north, south, east, west; 
- the four seasons: spring, summer, autumn, winter; 
- the four cosmic elements: suns, moons, planets, stars; 
- the four phases of human life: birth, adolescence, adulthood, death; 
- the four primary elements: fire, earth, air, water.


Copyright © 2024 Daniele Toesca - All Rights Reserved
Privacy policy | Terms of service | Legal notice | Shipping policy | Refund policy | FAQ